Skip to main content Skip to secondary navigation

Energy Engagement Programs is a cross-campus effort of the Precourt Institute for Energy.

Global Energy Council

Main content start

The Stanford Energy Global Council engages industry partners and energy thought-leaders in deep dialogue on the trends in technology, business, investments, and policy, and their complex interplay that is shaping and likely to shape the energy landscape in different parts of the world.

Stanford Energy Global Council members, top row: Marie-Noëlle Semeria, Yuri Sebgrets, Choon Fong Shih, Theodore J. Wojnar, Adnan Amin, Michael Morgan and Rich Brown. Bottom row: Arun Majumdar, George Shultz and Sally Benson.

We are in the early days of the largest transformation of the global energy system the world has ever witnessed. A key ingredient for energy innovations is to foster cross-fertilization of ideas across multiple sectors of our economy and society.

With this in mind, the Precourt Institute for Energy established the Stanford Energy Global Council in 2019 to create a deep dialogue on the trends in technology, business, investments and policy, and their complex interplay that is shaping and likely to shape the energy landscape in different parts of the world. The council comprises heads of international energy institutions, energy thought leaders from around the world.

Councils provide insights on energy technology, policy, markets, business and finance to help shape the strategic direction for Stanford’s energy research and outreach, while helping to cultivate a robust global energy ecosystem of thought leadership. The council held its inaugural meeting on August 22, 2019 on the future of transportation. 

Members of the Stanford Energy Global Council on Transportation:

  • Adnan Amin, Director General Emeritus, International Renewable Energy Agency
  • Sally Benson, Professor of Energy Resources Engineering; Co-Director, Precourt Institute for Energy, Stanford
  • Fatih Birol, Executive Director, International Energy Agency
  • Steven Chu, Professor of Physics and of Molecular & Cellular Physiology, Stanford
  • John Deutch, Institute Professor Emeritus, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
  • Anne Finucane, Vice Chairman at Bank of America; Chairman of the Board of Bank of America Merrill Lynch Europe
  • John Hennessy, President Emeritus & Director of Knight-Hennessy Scholars, Stanford
  • Susan Hockfield, President Emerita, Professor of Neuroscience; member of the Koch Institute for Integrative Cancer Research, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
  • Arun Majumdar, Professor of Mechanical Engineering; Co-Director, Stanford Precourt Institute for Energy, Stanford
  • Ajay Mathur, Director General, The Energy & Resources Institute
  • Michael Morgan, Chairman & CEO, Triangle Peak Partners
  • William Perry, Senior Fellow, Hoover Institution
  • Jay Precourt, vice chairman, Precourt Institute for Energy Advisory Council, Stanford
  • Condoleezza Rice, Denning Professor in Global Business and the Economy, Stanford Graduate School of Business; Thomas and Barbara Stephenson Senior Fellow on Public Policy, Hoover Institution; and professor of political science, Stanford University
  • Yuri Sebregts, Executive Vice President Technology and Chief Technology Officer, Shell
  • Marie-Noëlle Semeria, Vice President and Group CTO, Total
  • Choon Fong Shih, Senior Advisor, University of Chinese Academy of Sciences
  • George Shultz, Distinguished Fellow, Hoover Institution, Stanford
  • Tom Stephenson, Partner, Sequoia Capital
  • Theodore J. Wojnar III, Vice President, Corporate Strategic Planning, ExxonMobil

Transportation experts in the August 22 workshop, non-members of the council:

  • Rich Brown, Senior Vice President, Global Environmental Group, Bank of America
  • Will Chueh, Associate Professor, Materials Science & Engineering, Stanford
  • Yi Cui, Professor, Materials Science & Engineering, and Photon Science, Stanford
  • Anthony Foxx, Chief Policy Officer, Lyft
  • J. Chris Gerdes, Professor, Mechanical Engineering, and Director, Center for Automotive Research at Stanford
  • Carl Hergart, Director Advanced Powertrain, PACCAR
  • John Heywood, Professor Emeritus, Mechanical Engineering, MIT
  • Tom Jaramillo, Associate Professor, Chemical Engineering and Photon Science, and Director of the SUNCAT Center for Interface Science & Catalysis, Stanford
  • Don MacKenzie, Assistant Professor, Civil & Environmental Engineering, University of Washington
  • Doug Murtha, Group Vice President, Corporate Strategy and Planning, Toyota Motor North America
  • Joan Ogden, Professor, Environmental Science & Policy, University of California-Davis
  • Ram Rajagopal, Associate Professor, Civil & Environmental Engineering, Stanford
  • Andreas W. Schäfer, Professor of Energy and Transport, UCL Energy Institute, University College London
  • JB Straubel, Senior Advisor, Tesla
  • Joshua Switkes, Founder & CEO, Peloton Technology
  • Hai Wang, Professor of Mechanical Engineering, Stanford
  • Charles Wyman, Professor, Chemical & Environmental Engineering, University of California- Riverside
  • Stephen Zoepf, Executive Director, Center for Automotive Research at Stanford
  • Cathy Zoi, CEO, EVgo


Cindy Williams, Assistant Director, External Engagement, Precourt Institute for Energy, Stanford University 650.724.2613